Lone Star ES Principal Catherine Bartlett announces plans to retire following 2021-22 school year

Lone Star Elementary School Principal Dr. Catherine Bartlett has announced that she will retire at the end of the 2021-22 school year.

Bartlett, who is in her 31st year in public education and 9th year as principal of Lone Star ES, will continue to serve in her role through the remainder of this school year.

 “I am so proud of the accomplishments we achieved as a Lone Star ES family and am thankful for the life-long relationships I have been blessed with during my time as principal,” Bartlett said. “Our school community has the most amazing staff, students and families and I am grateful for the joy that each of them brought to my career in public education.”

Bartlett has served as principal of Lone Star ES for the last nine years. During her time as principal, Bartlett led Lone Star ES through the implementation of the Leader in Me campus transformation model, empowering students with the leadership skills to help them flourish. After only three years following the implementation of the program, Lone Star ES was recognized nationally as a Leader in Me Lighthouse School in January 2021 and continues to be a model campus throughout the region. Lone Star ES received an A-rating from the Texas Education Agency under Bartlett’s leadership. In 2012, Bartlett was named as the H-E-B Excellence in Education Elementary Principal of the Year.

Bartlett was also a key member of the MISD leadership team during the development of the Pathway to Premier Strategic Plan, which was adopted at the end of the 2020-21 school year.

“Dr. Bartlett’s servant leadership and unwavering commitment to excellence have served the Lone Star ES staff, students and families in ways that I am confident will continue long after her departure as principal,” Superintendent Dr. Heath Morrison said. “Though I am very excited for Dr. Bartlett and her family, this is a difficult farewell for Team Montgomery. I have such a deep appreciation for Dr. Bartlett’s leadership and contributions to Lone Star ES and Montgomery ISD.”